Home » Uncategorized » For Friday

For Friday

The Following prayer is part of a very ancient liturgy of the Church, especially in the West:

My people, what wrong have I done to you?
How have I offended you? Answer me!
Through baptism, I led you from slavery to freedom,
but you lead your Saviour to the cross.

Holy God, holy and merciful,
holy and just, have mercy upon us.

I led you through the wilderness.
I fed you with the bread of life,
the manna from heaven,
but you lead your Saviour to the cross.

Holy God, holy and merciful,
holy and just, have mercy upon us.

I planted you as my fairest vineyard,
I grafted you into the one true vine,
I gave you the water of salvation,
but you give me gall and vinegar to drink,
and leave me thirsting upon a cross.

Holy God, holy and merciful,
holy and just, have mercy upon us.

I gave you a royal sceptre,
but you give me a crown of thorns.
I raised you up to newness of life,
but you raise me high upon a cross.

Holy God, holy and merciful,
holy and just, have mercy upon us.

What more could I have done for you?
I gave you my peace and my truth,
but you fight in my name,
and divide my Church.

Holy God, holy and merciful,
holy and just, have mercy upon us.

I come in your brother and sister,
hungry, yet you give me no food,
thirsty, yet you give me no drink,
a stranger, and you do not welcome me,
naked, and you do not clothe me,
sick and in prison, and you do not visit me.

Holy God, holy and merciful,
holy and just, have mercy upon us.

2 Comments

  1. Scholiast says:

    The choir sang this yesterday as we went forward to venerate the Cross. May you have a blessed Easter tomorrow!

  2. greeklogic says:

    That was a powerful end to the noon service yesterday.

    I head about a church that is talking about Revelation instead of celebrating the Passion of our Lord. How far some have strayed from our rich heritage!

    – Macellarius Sus

Leave a Reply

